External Grants

  • Co-Principal Investigator. National Science Foundation (Award Number: 2210137), Total $300,000 (2022--2024)

Title: EAGER: DCL: SaTC: Enabling Interdisciplinary Collaboration: Combatting Disinformation and Racial Bias: A Deep-Learning-Assisted Investigation of Temporal Dynamics of Disinformation

  • Collaborator. MIT-Lincoln Laboratory (Award Number: PO 7000506684), Total $280,000 (2020—2021)

Title: Designing effective intervention points for adversarial influence operations.

  • Principal Investigator. National Science Foundation (Award Number: 2027387), Total $74,000 (2020-2022)
    Title: RAPID: Rumor Diffusion during Unrest

  • Principal Investigator. Social Science Research Council (Social Media and Democracy Grants), Total $48,988 (2020-2022)
    Title: Facebook Information Diffusion and Protest Mobilization: State-level Analyses of the 2018 March for Our Lives Demonstrations

  • Principal Investigator. DEVCOM Army Research Laboratory-Army Research Office (Award Number: W911NF1910066 ), Total $328,653 (2019–2023)
    Title: Crisis and Collective Problem-Solving on the Darkweb: Understanding Crisis Information Processing in Hidden Cyber Communities

  • Collaborator. Department of Education (Award Number: P016A160053), Total $189,697 (3% contribution) (2016-2018)
    Title: Asia Mediated: Interdisciplinary Curriculum Innovation at Arizona
    State University

  • Principal Investigator. AEJMC-Emerging Scholars Award, Total $3,500 (2017-2018)
    Title: News Proximity and Social Media Framing of Terrorism: A
    Computational Approach toward Large-Scale Framing Research

  • Co-Principal Investigator. The Gates Foundation: Digital Media Learning Competition, Total $154,018 (2013-2014)
    Title: Evaluating Microcredentialing in Public Networked Environments

Internal Grants

  • Principal Investigator. ASU Global Security Initiative - Center of Narrative, Disinformation & Strategic Influence, DNSI Small Grant, Total 9,800 (2022)

  • Principal Investigator. ASU Institute for Social Science Research, Seed Grant, Total 7,587 (2021)
    The Dynamics of Networked Public Attention and Social Movement: An Exploration of Intermedia and Intergenerational Framing of Gun Control Movement

  • Principal Investigator. ASU Institute for Social Science Research, Seed Grant, Total 7,984 (2020)
    Title: Misinformation and Political Unrest: An Investigation of Rumor Diffusion Online and Offline during the 2019 Hong Kong Protests

  • Principal Investigator. ASU Institute for Social Science Research, Seed Grant, Total 6,000 (PI, 2017)
    Title: Crisis and Collective Sensemaking in Darkweb Hacker Communities

  • Principal Investigator. University at Buffalo-Mark Diamond Dissertation Research Grant, Total 2,000 (2009-2010)


  • Top Faculty Debut Award (2022)
    Qian Li, Chun Shao, Shawn Walker, & Hazel Kwon, Making Gun Control Agendas in Networked Digital Environment: An Intermedia Comparison between Activism Websites, News Outlets, and Ephemeral Media during the U.S. Gun Control Movement
    Interactive Media and Emerging Technologies Division
    BEA 2023 Convention

  • Best Faculty Article Award (2022)
    Song, Y., Kwon, K. H., Xu, J., Huang, X., & Li, S. (2021). Curbing profanity online: A network-based diffusion analysis of profane speech on Chinese social media. New Media & Society, 23(5), 982-1003
    Chinese Communicaiton Association

  • The US-Korean NextGen Scholar (2020-21)
    Center for Strategic & International Studies

  • Emerging Scholars Award (2017)
    Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • Visiting Scholar-in-Residence (2016)
    Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management
    Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada

  • Herbert S. Dordick Dissertation Award (2nd Runner-up) (2011)
    Communication and Technology Division
    International Communication Association

  • Best Faculty Paper honorable mention (2012)
    Korean American Communication Division
    International Communication Association

  • Kappa Tao Alpha Research Award (2008)
    National Honor Society in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • Jung-Sook Lee Award (2008)
    Communication and Technology Division
    Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication

  • Top Four Paper Award (2007)
    Peace Communication Division
    National Communication Association

Advisory Board / Editorship

Invited Collaborations